Top Ten Tuesday #15: Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015

December 2, 2014 / 9 Comments / Top Ten Tuesday, Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted at The Broke and the Bookish to highlight a top ten list related to book blogging, and to get to know fellow book bloggers.

Talking about my most anticipated books is like talking about my favourite people or trips I can’t wait to take – there are always too many, and I just gush.

So here are my most anticipated reads from most to least “OMG-gotta-have-it” – let the gushing commence…now!

1. I Was Here by Gayle Forman (January 27, 2015; Viking Juvenile):  When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her.

GAYLE FORMAN. Also, the buzz for this is crazy. I’m SO excited to cry again. 

2. The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord (March 31, Bloomsbury): It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for a year, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan.

I haven’t even written a review of Open Road Summer because it floored me so much (I *will* get that review up this month! I will!), and I hear this one might even be better.

3. The Heir by Kiera Cass (May 15, Harper Teen): Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own.

More Selection? Like I even have to explain.

4. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (April 28, Razorbill): Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

This book is getting crazy buzz, and I was sent a chapter sampler from Penguin Canada. An hour later, I was stunned – it was the same feeling that I had reading The Hunger Games the first time. NEED.

5. All Fall Down by Ally Carter (January 27, 2015, Scholastic): This exciting new series from NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Ally Carter focuses on Grace, who can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world, and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

MORE ALLY CARTER.  That is all.

6. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach (March 31, Simon & Schuster): Four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward Earth in this contemporary novel.

This debut has one of the best covers ever, and it sounds deep and dark and wonderful. 

7. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler (June 2, Simon Pulse): The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Little Mermaid retelling. Can’t even.

8. Lois Lane: Fallout by Gwenda Bond (May 1, Switch Press): Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over—and seen all kinds of things. (Some of them defy explanation, like the near-disaster she witnessed in Kansas in the middle of one night.) But now her family is putting down roots in the big city, and Lois is determined to fit in. Stay quiet. Fly straight. As soon as she steps into her new high school, though, she can see it won’t be that easy.

Love the sounds of this one – when I was a kid, I liked Superman, but I LOVED Lois Lane and thought she was a pretty great role model. Can’t wait for teenage Lois in book form to take on bullies.

9. Omega City by Diana Peterfreund (April 28, Balzer + Bray): The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

You all know my love for Diana, right? I’m still on the fence about this middle-grade, but I love adventure and I trust Diana’s excellent writing and imagination to make this a favourite.

10. The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand (February 10, Harper Teen): The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment. Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

I adored how well Cynthia Hand wrote about loss in her Unearthly series, and I’m really glad that we now get a full book about it – she’s definitely a writer who speaks to the heart. 

What books are you most anticipating for the winter and all of 2015? Are any of mine on your list? Let me know in the comments!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Want more YA reviews and bookish fun? Get Mostly YA Lit in your inbox and be the first to get notified on new updates.

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday #15: Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015

  1. I'm really looking forward to I Was Here! It somehow didn't make my list (proof that I should draft these things late at night, I guess), but I'm a huge fan of Gayle Forman. I'm also really intrigued to read The Heir, especially since The Selection series (which I enjoyed!) was originally supposed to be just 3 books.
    Here’s my TTT post.

  2. Such a great list! The Start of Me and You was FANTASTIC! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I liked it as much as (and maybe more than) Open Road Summer! I have so much love for Emery Lord. 🙂 The Heir made my list today too. And I'm so excited for The Summer of Chasing Mermaids as well!! 2015 is going to be a fabulous year in books! 🙂

  3. I really wanted to be brave enough to add The Last Time We Say Goodbye to my list, but I felt like it might be too intense and emotional. It'll be interesting to see how that one turns out. Great list!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge