Waiting on Wednesday: Ashes to Ashes by Melissa Walker

July 31, 2013 / 5 Comments / Book Memes, Uncategorized, Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that book bloggers are eagerly anticipating.

I’m back! And a little late with this week’s WoW pick, but it’s by one of my favourite authors, so yay!

Author: Melissa C. Walker 

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Expected publication date: December 23, 2013

If I Stay meets the movie Ghost in this first book in a teen duology about a teenage-girl-turned-ghost who must cling to the echoes of her former life to save the people she left behind.

Ashes to Ashes is author Melissa Walker’s sweeping, romantic, and emotionally rich story about the things that torment and tempt us, even from the Great Beyond. This book is perfect for fans of Die for Me and Imaginary Girls, and its breathtaking ending will leave readers anxiously awaiting the series conclusion, Dust to Dust.

When Callie’s life is cut short by a tragic accident, she expects to find nothingness, or maybe some version of heaven.

Instead, her spirit travels to the Prism, an ethereal plane populated by the ghosts she thought were fictional. Here she meets a striking and mysterious ghost named Thatcher, who is meant to guide her as she learns to haunt and bring peace to the loved ones she left behind.

However, Callie uncovers a dark secret about the spirit world: The angry souls who always populate ghost stories are real, dangerous, and willing to do whatever it takes to stay on Earth, threatening the existence of everyone she ever cared about.

As she fights to save them, Callie will learn that while it may no longer beat, her heart can still love-and break.


Ok, first of all, THAT COVER. It’s so creepy and beautiful, with the dead leaves and the blood-red dress, and the mournful-looking-down of the character. Instant eye-catcher. 
Secondly, it’s Melissa Walker! I’ve read every one of Melissa’s books (try Lovestruck Summer right now if you haven’t read it already!) and she always inspires me with her effortless understanding of teens and her willingness to push the limits with her concepts and stories. Ashes to Ashes is a huge departure from her usual (and MY usual) contemporary genre, and I’m so curious to see what she does with it. 
Thirdly – and this is weird – but ever since I read Audrey Niffenegger’s Her Fearful Symmetry around Christmas/New Year’s a couple years ago, I’ve been kind of into reading ghost stories around Christmas. Maybe it’s the whole A Christmas Carol/Scrooge thing, or maybe it’s just the idea of reflecting on the past, but this is totally my kind of Christmas book. Luckily, it comes out right before Christmas this year!

Are you excited for ASHES TO ASHES? Are you into ghosts or just Melissa Walker’s writing? What are you waiting for this week? Let me know in the comments!


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Want more YA reviews and bookish fun? Get Mostly YA Lit in your inbox and be the first to get notified on new updates.

5 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: Ashes to Ashes by Melissa Walker

  1. Nice book! It does seem interesting and sure to make your heart throb 😉

    Great Wow choice:) I've never heard of it BUT i'm glad i have now! totally going on the TBR

    Anyways i've been reading your posts and have added like 4 books to my to-read shelve so thank you for that aha

    You should check out my WoW
    @ http://straightfromthereadersmouth.blogspot.com

    I'm new to the blogosphere and would really appreciate followers!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.